Chernobyl is a five-part historical drama television miniseries created and written by Craig Mazin, and directed by Johan Renck. The series was produced by HBO in association with Sky UK, it depicts the Chernobyl nuclear disaster of April 1986 and the unprecedented cleanup efforts that followed. It features an ensemble cast led by Jared Harris, Stellan Skarsgård, Emily Watson, and Paul Ritter. The series premiered in the United States and the United Kingdom on May 6–7, 2019 and was acclaimed by critics.

A companion podcast for the miniseries also had new episodes published as each TV episode aired on HBO. The podcast featured conversations between Mazin and host Peter Sagal, of National Public Radio’s Wait Wait… Don’t Tell Me!, including discussions of where the show tried to be as true as possible to historical events versus the scenes and characters that were consolidated or invented as part of artistic license.


Download Now

Leave a comment